When you’ve been injured by a drunk driver in Washington, D.C., there are several important things you need to know when filing a personal injury claim.
Injury Claims Involving Drunk Drivers
When you’ve been injured by a drunk driver in Washington, D.C., there are several important things you need to know when filing a personal injury claim. Driving under the influence (DUI) and while intoxicated (DWI) are different designations. When a person is charged with DUI, it means their BAC level is 0.07 percent or under that. However, a field test for sobriety that was administered by a police officer shows cognitive impairment. In a DWI, the BAC level is at least 0.08 percent, which is shown by a urine, blood, or breathalyzer test.
Contact Roeser Law if You Were Injured by a Drunk Driver
Roeser Law’s mission is to protect its clients’ rights and help them obtain the compensation they deserve. Our compassionate service, legal acumen and tenacity are what you need for your case to reach a successful conclusion. Call us at (202) 660-4070 to find out how we can help you.
More Than One Person or Entity May Be Liable if You Are Injured by a Drunk Driver
While an injured party can certainly file a personal injury claim against the intoxicated driver, liability may extend to others. This is something your attorney can establish so that all at-fault parties may be held responsible.
- Holding the vehicle owner responsible: When the vehicle’s owner lets someone drive their car knowing they’ve been drinking, this is called negligent entrustment and allows the injured party to file a claim against the vehicle owner.
- Employer negligence: When a drunk driver becomes intoxicated during working hours such as at a company party, gets in their vehicle, and injures someone, the injured person may be able to hold the employer responsible.
- The driver became intoxicated at a public establishment: Restaurants, bars, and other locations that serve intoxicating beverages may be liable for accident injuries under D.C. Code Annotated § 25-781.
- Underage drinkers: Washington, D.C. has a no tolerance policy regarding drinking by any drivers under the age of 21. If the minor has any alcohol showing in their system found in a breath, blood, or urine test, they are considered under the influence. Refusal to test results in a mandatory license suspension for one year and fines.
Time Limit to File a Claim Against an Injury Caused by a Drunk Driver
In the District, an injured party has three years to file a claim to recover compensation in an incident caused by a drunk driver. Because your injury lawyer needs the time to investigate the accident to collect the evidence needed to support your claim, find all guilty parties that may be liable, and negotiate with the at-fault party’s insurance company, seeking counsel as soon as possible is a good idea.
Since it can take some time to settle a claim with the insurance company, you don’t want to wait too long because you may end up with the statute of limitations running out. If this happens, you will not be able to take the case to court. This is an important consideration, especially if your injuries are severe and ongoing.
Roeser Law Firm – Helping You Recover Compensation After a DUI Accident
After an accident, you can benefit from the assistance of the Roeser Law Firm to obtain fair compensation for your injuries. Call us at (202) 660-4070 for a free consultation to review your case and find out about options to recover damages or contact us online.